Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA)


The MMRDA is responsible for planning and developing civic infrastructure in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR), which covers 4355 square kilometers. Of this, 468 square kilometers belongs to the city of Greater Mumbai. The rest of the MMR contains five municipal corporations, fifteen municipal councils and several villages. The MMRDA is an apex body regulating and coordinating the activities of all these organisations, and is responsible for planning and administering the island city and its environs. The MMRDA has released a masterplan for developments in the region upto the year 2011.

The organisation consists of three bodies-

* The Authority is the highest policy making body. It has 17 members and is chaired by the Minister for Urban Development, Government of Maharashtra.
* The Executive body provides technical guidance and supervision. It contains 6 state government members and three expert members, and is chaired by the Chief Secretary of the state government.
* The Metropolitan Commissioner is appointed by the state government and heads the office of the MMRDA. This contains 6 functional divisions, with their own divisional chiefs.

The MMRDA sources funds from the state government, by sale of land and by levying development charges. The bulk of its revenue comes from the disposal of land in the Bandra-Kurla complex. It operates a reserve fund for financing infrastructure projects and also extends loan facilities for such projects.

The main projects being undertaken by the MMRDA are the Mumbai Urban Transport Project (MUTP), the Mumbai Urban Development Project, developments in the Bandra-Kurla Complex and the Wadala Truck Terminal. The Mahim Nature Park is also being developed by the MMRDA. Future plans may include MUTP-II and the Mumbai Urban Rehabilitation Project.